Idhu Enna Maayam Music Review

Idhu Enna Maayam

Ever since the time, GV Prakash decided to kick-start his acting career, his musical panorama has been slightly declining down the graph. Although his song ‘Saivam’ written by Na. Muthukumar has won couple of National awards for the best female playback singer – Uthara Unnikrishnan, his other albums have been not much favouring for his fans. ‘Idhu Enna Maayam’ that comes from the same team of National award winning crew – AL Vijay, GV Prakash and Na. Muthukumar stars Vikram Prabhu and Keerthi Suresh in lead roles.

High Voltage
Singers: MC Vickey
Lyrics: MC Vickey

A rap song seems to have been the planning of GV Prakash to start off with the album. The song is good in places, but it is a very well known fact that our music lovers including us are so much used to this hackneyed genre and something better could be nice. Nevertheless, the efforts of MC Vickey need appreciations.

Iravaaga Nee
Singers: GV Prakash, Saindhavi
Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

In the past many albums, we have seen the splendid work of these duo singers – GV Prakash and Saindhavi, the real life couple. Almost all their songs have been delighting to our sense and we have completely enjoyed them. Na. Muthukumar especially has written them fabulous songs and this one too gets into the same league that fascinates us.

Machi Machi
Singers: Udit narayan, Devan Ekambaram, Navin Iyer
Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

Sounds too outdated…. This sort of songs, especially with the Hindi singer like Udit Narayanan were at its peak before many years. But now with the trend completely shifting to unique genres and music lovers expecting something more different, it sounds to be a threadbare one and doesn’t impress you vividly.

Singers: GV Prakash, Harini
Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

Regardless of how a song scores, Harini is always above the top of getting her brownie points. This is a melodious duet with some unique features saliently spotted in the instrumental portions, but the overall composing by GV Prakash is too ordinary. Except for Harini, there isn’t much to specifically praise this song.

Suttrum Boomi Maele
Singers: Shireen Shahana
Lyrics: Na. Muthukumar

As you start listening to the voice of Shireen Shahana, you will start feeling there is something special about her. If she is someone chosen to render a Carnatic, Hindustani or a soulful melody, Shireen Shahana would be the best topper on charts. Regrettably, the singer doesn’t get the proper scope with this rock bound song that is dominated with too much over loud music and sound.

A Walk to remember

The theme music has the same notes played over and again. At first it is really good, but when repeated in the similar pattern of ‘Deiva Thirumagal’ theme music (where the same notes are played constantly in different instruments). Well, the DTM music was finely done, but this one is not something that would achieve at least half its level.

On the whole, ‘Idhu Enna Maayam’ songs are just average and we are yet again disappointed with the musical score of GV Prakash. When the young music director filled his store during the initial phase of career with some mind-boggling albums like Veyil, Kireedom followed by Chartbuster albums like Aayirathil Oruvan, Mayakkam Enna and Paradesi, we had a clear assumption that he would be the best successor of AR Rahman, but he is letting us down over and again.

Verdict: The magical work of GV Prakash is missing

Diffusé par Adcash

Idhu Enna Maayam Gallery